Perkinson78
Posts: 2
Joined: 09 May 2018, 07:40

Re: NeoSD Pro booting to white screen

01 Jan 2020, 11:20

Think i found problem, the spacer bottom and/or top may be reversed . Maybe it was missed during assembly. The top and bottom spacer should be even if not the pcbs will not on going straight in the console connector. So i just reversed the bottom spacer and it works perfectly. Now im missing the damn screws smh.

echo
Posts: 8
Joined: 31 Dec 2019, 18:15
Location: Germany

Re: NeoSD Pro booting to white screen

01 Jan 2020, 14:03

I have looked at my old NoeSD (without Pro) and see a difference between the two shells and that could be the reason why the Pro has such problems.

In the pro version you have two dots on the shell to give the spacer more stability. This dots are missing on the non pro version.

I thing this is the reason why the non pro will boot on my neo geo. The spacer is more flexible in the middle of the slot.
Thats although the reason why my pro didn’t boot if I put the spacer in the upper position. The dots press the spacer back to his old position in the middle of the slot.

So one way would be to make the spacer thinner so the cartridge can slips deeper in the slots. Or we remove the dots, I think.
Last edited by echo on 01 Jan 2020, 20:19, edited 1 time in total.

smartaces
Posts: 4
Joined: 01 Jan 2020, 19:38

Re: NeoSD Pro booting to white screen

01 Jan 2020, 19:47

Hi Guys

I received my Neo SD Pro two days ago, I'm having the same problem as other users.

The spacer looks like it sits too low for me also.

Good to see that this is being investigated.

Really hoping that a solution can be found, preferably some kind of replacement case can be sent out to affected users (if this is the precise cause)?

All the best

S

User avatar
terraonion_admin
Site Admin
Posts: 164
Joined: 08 Apr 2018, 21:09

Re: NeoSD Pro booting to white screen

01 Jan 2020, 21:18

Hello everyone,

I have been investigating this today more deeper and finally was able to reproduce the issue here, i tried about 40 carts and was able to get 3 having the issue after several tries.

Yes, the issue is the spacer and the 2 small plastic dots the shell has at each part of the shell, there is a fast and easy solution that involves removing those two dots allowing the spacer to move up, the stability dosent gets afected and the issue is fixed.

I will make a video tomorrow with sunlight to explain it. What i still dont know is why it afects a small number of carts and not all.

Either way, sorry for the inconvenience and wait for tomorrow´s video please

Happy new year,

Alex,

User avatar
terraonion_admin
Site Admin
Posts: 164
Joined: 08 Apr 2018, 21:09

Re: NeoSD Pro booting to white screen

02 Jan 2020, 16:31

Ok, i asume most of you that had the issue already have applied this fix, but i made a video explaining how to apply the fix anyways.

Remember : this only happens with a small percent of the shipped cartridges and my guess its because some tolerance on the cartridge slot at the AES console.

From now we will ship all cartridges with the spacer on the new position but if you have a cart and you are not experiencing any issue, i would just let it how we have shipped it.

https://youtu.be/6aqIOKBw_bY

BronNeo
Posts: 7
Joined: 22 Dec 2019, 09:50

Re: NeoSD Pro booting to white screen

02 Jan 2020, 23:49

Received my NeoSD Pro and unfortunately I am having the same issue, mine is stuck on the blue screen.
Tried it without spacer and it is working. So I tried the fix on the video and it didn't solve the issue for me, I am trying to figure out if I need to shave some more plastic somewhere else

BronNeo
Posts: 7
Joined: 22 Dec 2019, 09:50

Re: NeoSD Pro booting to white screen

03 Jan 2020, 01:07

BronNeo wrote:
02 Jan 2020, 23:49
Received my NeoSD Pro and unfortunately I am having the same issue, mine is stuck on the blue screen.
Tried it without spacer and it is working. So I tried the fix on the video and it didn't solve the issue for me, I am trying to figure out if I need to shave some more plastic somewhere else
Worked on my spacer for an hour and didn't find a solution, my NeoSD PRO doesn't work with the spacer on even after the fix, any other help or idea is appreciated. In case it matters my AES is an American first revision

Utgardaloki76
Posts: 7
Joined: 31 Dec 2019, 05:19

Re: NeoSD Pro booting to white screen

03 Jan 2020, 03:30

I found the actual problem as well as the fix for it. This way you can keep the spacer in its original position. It should also solve the problem for everyone, not just some. It still involves a little bit of work though. Long story short the PCB slits on the spacer are too far apart for my particular revision (NEO-AES3-6) so the slits on the spacer don't line up with the slits on the AES.

Lower alignment pushes upper row out of place
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1NPaC_ ... dnqWcrczKq

And vice versa
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1NKvrk ... 4H6YyfuTC_

This forces the PCBs to be separated to the point of losing connection with the two middle copper contact rows on the AES. I narrowed things down by removing the shell while retaining the spacer. In this upper position the AES would boot.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1NDLhZ ... LUffGSOkvk

But when pushing the spacer into the original lower position I had to use quite a lot of force indicating that the slits were not lining up, forcing the PCBs apart. After that the AES wouldn't boot.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1NJvIV ... IBhnHIbkwt
You can clearly see how the spacer gets bent due to jamming due to trying to force the PCBs apart. And the more you force the spacer down into meant position the more you force the PCBs apart.
----------------------------------------------------

Solution:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1NUATT ... cM9_E-YYE2
File the slit down towards the middle (so down in picture).

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1NVbYq ... yQbhTXNpVR
File the other slit up towards the middle (so up in picture).

Final result
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1NXQ8W ... 7TN-liJfyy

And with modified spacer/filed slits in place.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1NprGr ... O6vh_o2O7Y

And there it is..
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1NpgCv ... OZ1xtPhNJr

My AES revision: NEO-AES3-6
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1N-n5M ... BDtg-acwMD
Last edited by Utgardaloki76 on 03 Jan 2020, 04:43, edited 3 times in total.

cgallant1
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Dec 2019, 07:40

Re: NeoSD Pro booting to white screen

03 Jan 2020, 03:44

Utgardaloki76 wrote:
03 Jan 2020, 03:30
I found the actual problem as well as the fix for it. This way you can keep the spacer in its original position. It should also solve the problem for everyone, not just some. It still involves a little bit of work though. Long story short the PCB slits on the spacer are too far apart for my particular revision (NEO-AES3-6) so the slits on the spacer don't line up with the slits on the AES.

Lower alignment pushes upper row out of place
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1NPaC_ ... dnqWcrczKq

And vice versa
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1NKvrk ... 4H6YyfuTC_

This forces the PCBs to be separated to the point of losing connection with the two middle copper contact rows on the AES. I narrowed things down by removing the shell while retaining the spacer. In the upper position the AES would boot.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1NDLhZ ... LUffGSOkvk

But when pushing the spacer into the original lower position I had to use quite a lot of force indicating that the slits were not lining up, forcing the PCBs appart. After that the AES wouldn't boot.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1NJvIV ... IBhnHIbkwt
You can clearly see how the spacer gets bent due to jamming due to trying to force the PCBs apart. And the more you force it down into meant position the more you force the PCBs apart.
----------------------------------------------------

Solution:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1NUATT ... cM9_E-YYE2
File the slit down towards the middle (so down in picture).

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1NVbYq ... yQbhTXNpVR
File the other slit up towards the middle (so up in picture).

Final result
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1NXQ8W ... 7TN-liJfyy

And with modified spacer/filed slits in place.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1NprGr ... O6vh_o2O7Y

And there it is..
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1NpgCv ... OZ1xtPhNJr

My AES revision: NEO-AES3-6
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1N-n5M ... BDtg-acwMD

This is interesting. My AES is also 3-6. I will try it later. Repositioning the spacer deeper into the shell did not solve my issues. I hope this will finally do the trick. I wish I wouldn't have clipped the support tabs off the shell already.

Moving the spacer deeper into the shell allowed my cart to boot about 1/3 of the time but I was then having issues with audio/video.

Utgardaloki76
Posts: 7
Joined: 31 Dec 2019, 05:19

Re: NeoSD Pro booting to white screen

03 Jan 2020, 03:57

[...]

This is interesting. My AES is also 3-6. I will try it later. Repositioning the spacer deeper into the shell did not solve my issues. I hope this will finally do the trick. I wish I wouldn't have clipped the support tabs off the shell already.

Moving the spacer deeper into the shell allowed my cart to boot about 1/3 of the time but I was then having issues with audio/video.

Yes, the original solution which was to move the spacer upwards didn't really solve the problem since it was still putting strain on the PCBs. Strain was lesser but it wasn't completelly removed and given tolerances in manufacturing you could end up either lucky or not. I was lucky most of the time but not always as in sometimes I wouldn't get sound but booting worked.

An original cartridge has much more play/wiggle room. Compare separated...
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1NuCHJ ... PkqFwfRgFy

with compressed
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1NzYH- ... Koki1DHml2

The filing should fix it. Simply file till you get the same wiggle room as on an original cartridge.
Last edited by Utgardaloki76 on 03 Jan 2020, 04:36, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “NEOSD and NEOSD Pro Discussion”