city41
Posts: 27
Joined: 22 Dec 2018, 10:11

Appropriate power supplies to use with NeoSD?

09 Jan 2019, 07:36

My AES system is a model intended to be used with the 5v PRO-POW power supply. I bought it used many years ago and it came with a third party power supply.

This third party power supply has worked just fine with the NeoSD. But it makes a clicking noise, which makes me nervous.

So I bought this power supply: https://en.retrogamesupply.com/collecti ... eo-geo-aes

This new PS works with regular carts fine, but not the NeoSD. With the NeoSD I get really garbled graphics, and many games reset at the eyecatcher over and over.

This new PS has 2.5 amps versus my original PS's 4 amps, could that be the difference?

Anyone know of a source of good power supplies to use with the NeoSD for America (110v)?

User avatar
Mobiusstriptech
Posts: 231
Joined: 13 Apr 2018, 15:41

Re: Appropriate power supplies to use with NeoSD?

09 Jan 2019, 19:01

The RetroGameCave supply works well. General rule of thumb most people seem to follow is 5v 3A on any of the 5v systems. They definitely have a very high draw compared to the 9v systems.

city41
Posts: 27
Joined: 22 Dec 2018, 10:11

Re: Appropriate power supplies to use with NeoSD?

10 Jan 2019, 01:22

That looks like a perfect PS. Thanks!

flashlogic
Posts: 26
Joined: 22 Nov 2018, 22:04

Re: Appropriate power supplies to use with NeoSD?

10 Jan 2019, 11:21

Don't waste your money with PSU.

I had a ProPow 5v Neo Geo, but missing the original PSU. I have tried 2 PSU from different sources. The best candidate was a 5V 3A, sold by a retro game shop and similar to the one sold by RetroGameCave:

https://www.tradergames.fr/fr/snk/alime ... 79184.html

But results were still bad.

So I decided to change my console for a ProPow3 model with its original 10V 1A PSU and now it works.

MarcoAG11
Posts: 3
Joined: 03 Mar 2019, 22:06

Re: Appropriate power supplies to use with NeoSD?

03 Mar 2019, 22:10

I recently got a power supply from this site:

https://en.retrogamesupply.com

The Neo•Geo supplies can be found here:

https://en.retrogamesupply.com/collecti ... eo-geo-aes

It works great, no problems with real games, or NeoSD Pro.

TruREALigion
Posts: 3
Joined: 17 Oct 2019, 05:29
Location: Toronto

Re: Appropriate power supplies to use with NeoSD?

17 Oct 2019, 05:44

I just want to confirm that the retrogamecave 5V3A does not work (well) with Neo SD Pro AES
http://www.retrogamecave.com/shop/45771 ... m/11247695

I get graphical glitches and random reboots when using the Neo SD Pro
I also get a voltage of 5.3 (instead of straight 5V) with my multimeter so either I have a defective PSU or it just isn't compatible.
My AES board is the original NEO-AES revision 1 with the regular in the bottom left near the power switch and a daughter board on top of the memory card slot.

Edit:
I have confirmed that the Triad 5V4A (2.1mm) PSU has somewhat reduced the random rebooting and allowed much better stability. RetroGameCave also replied back to me saying they are working on their own 4 Amp power supply
https://t.co/nzmMBLpfD9?amp=1

Graphical glitches was resolved by an overall cleanup and re-capping of my board. I also got the RGB Bypass mod on it.

<a href="

Return to “NEOSD and NEOSD Pro AES Tech Support”