User avatar
TokyoRebirth
Posts: 35
Joined: 15 Jul 2020, 10:12
Location: BEWAREOBLIVIONISATHAND

Re: Saturn games with no music, or very loud static noise

29 Jul 2020, 15:29

Around 9-12 minutes

The weird part is, it's only in that game. I tested others and don't have it. And it's a "clean" rom, so there is nothing else interfering .

Mostly it happened in the first freezer-room. (I restarted the game several times without saving, so I saw it happen most of the time around there)

User avatar
Todd
Admin
Posts: 1134
Joined: 08 Apr 2018, 22:25
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Contact: Twitter YouTube

Re: Saturn games with no music, or very loud static noise

29 Jul 2020, 16:00

are you using a redump image of it?
My PMs are disabled. Please send support requests to support(at)terraonion.com.

For real time assistance, please consider joining our very active Discord server: https://discord.gg/JexuJVW

User avatar
RevQuixo
Posts: 176
Joined: 09 Apr 2018, 15:31

Re: Saturn games with no music, or very loud static noise

29 Jul 2020, 17:01

I played the game for 20 minutes or so, getting to the outside of the ship...no pausing. Are you using an HDD?

User avatar
TokyoRebirth
Posts: 35
Joined: 15 Jul 2020, 10:12
Location: BEWAREOBLIVIONISATHAND

Re: Saturn games with no music, or very loud static noise

29 Jul 2020, 20:54

@Todd - yes, all my roms are redump.

Same for all the other ODEs you made - NoIntro, redump... etc. ;)

Guess I would even buy a second MODE for my Dreamcast in case you have an awesome idea to get rid of all the VMUs.

@RevQuixo - no, a 1TB SanDisk SSD

As said, other games work without any issues (even the Grandia 1 translation patched game works)

arromdee
Posts: 15
Joined: 12 Jun 2020, 04:15

Re: Saturn games with no music, or very loud static noise

31 Jul 2020, 19:30

Getting static instead of audio, but having sound effects work,happens even when burning CDs, when the data in the audio tracks needs to be byteswapped. I don't know if there's a setting that makes MODE automatically byteswap the image. If not, maybe Terraonion should consider adding a feature that lets a particular image load as byteswapped.

User avatar
Todd
Admin
Posts: 1134
Joined: 08 Apr 2018, 22:25
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Contact: Twitter YouTube

Re: Saturn games with no music, or very loud static noise

31 Jul 2020, 21:28

Are you using Tosec or Redump images? If not, they are what we recommend.

If you images use MP3 music tracks those won't work.
My PMs are disabled. Please send support requests to support(at)terraonion.com.

For real time assistance, please consider joining our very active Discord server: https://discord.gg/JexuJVW

User avatar
Segaheart99
Posts: 47
Joined: 20 Apr 2020, 10:51

Re: Saturn games with no music, or very loud static noise

31 Jul 2020, 21:53

Todd wrote:
31 Jul 2020, 21:28
Are you using Tosec or Redump images? If not, they are what we recommend.

If you images use MP3 music tracks those won't work.
@todd

I don't believe arromdee was having issues but was recommending people use byte-swapped images due to it maybe being a fix for the static noise.

Also to clear things up a bit

The thread starter never stated what images he was using

Look like TokyoRebirth is using redump and Televicious is using various and created some of his own?

User avatar
Todd
Admin
Posts: 1134
Joined: 08 Apr 2018, 22:25
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Contact: Twitter YouTube

Re: Saturn games with no music, or very loud static noise

31 Jul 2020, 22:03

Ahhh I see.

The next firmware will have fixes for Saturns with staticy audio.
My PMs are disabled. Please send support requests to support(at)terraonion.com.

For real time assistance, please consider joining our very active Discord server: https://discord.gg/JexuJVW

User avatar
Segaheart99
Posts: 47
Joined: 20 Apr 2020, 10:51

Re: Saturn games with no music, or very loud static noise

31 Jul 2020, 22:09

8-bitbishop wrote:
14 Jul 2020, 13:56
I'm having 3 issues.

#1: Some games do not work, and load directly to the CD player

#2: Some games load without any music

#3: Some games load with very loud static noise, instead of music. SFX work fine.
Ok to answer the orignal poster questions

1.if those files are ccd image then this is a know bug that will be fixed in the next firmware

2. Check to make sure they are in true cue - bin format as if they have mp3 files. Then you need to recreate them using something like imgburn or download a redump image whatever you prefer.

3.As seen in this thread you are not the only one having this issue but look like a fix may have been found just wait for the next firmware.

@todd post above nice to know

WildZero
Posts: 3
Joined: 08 Aug 2020, 16:03

Re: Saturn games with no music, or very loud static noise

08 Aug 2020, 16:06

I am having this same issue - a loud crackling sound when there is music playing in-game. I tested Panzer Dragoon (USA) & Virtua Fighter 2 (USA) from the redump set. The firmware update has not fixed the problem.

Return to “MODE Discussion”