Page 1 of 1

Lords of Thunder crashes after final boss

Posted: 12 Feb 2020, 03:14
by Matt
Played through Lords of Thunder today. The game played fine, but it crashed after the final boss (cutscene wouldn't load and the screen stayed black).

Anybody else had this problem? I'm using a model 1 Genesis with Mega SD (latest firmware) and a 128gb "Transcend" card.

Re: Lords of Thunder crashes after final boss

Posted: 13 Feb 2020, 00:23
by WestSide
I actually just completed the game last week. For me, I believe the end cutscene didn't play but the "Lords of Thunder" screen after that cutscene did and the music also played. I say this because I always take a picture of my monitor after I complete a game, and that was the only screenshot I found and I felt like something was missing.

Played on a Model 1 Japanese Mega Drive and 128 GB Sandisk card.

Re: Lords of Thunder crashes after final boss

Posted: 13 Feb 2020, 08:47
by neodev
Does the game support save and do you have any close to the final boss?

Re: Lords of Thunder crashes after final boss

Posted: 14 Feb 2020, 03:05
by Riz
No issues here, final cutscene played fine.

Re: Lords of Thunder crashes after final boss

Posted: 18 Feb 2020, 08:48
by Matt
Riz wrote:
14 Feb 2020, 03:05
No issues here, final cutscene played fine.
What console version/SD card are you using?

I didn't think to make any save states, it was just a casual play through and I've beaten the game plenty of times in the past. Next time I'll try using a different SD card to see if it makes a difference.

Re: Lords of Thunder crashes after final boss

Posted: 18 Feb 2020, 10:53
by Steven
I am pretty sure you can't make save states for CD games.

Re: Lords of Thunder crashes after final boss

Posted: 21 Feb 2020, 03:55
by Matt
Yes, you're right - cart games only. Either way, LoT doesn't have saves; the whole game is 30-40 minutes. Next time I have some free time I'll put it on a different SD card and see if the ending works.

Re: Lords of Thunder crashes after final boss

Posted: 24 Apr 2020, 16:38
by KenToad
What firmware are you guys using? I'm using 1.04 R09 and getting random freezes every time, with a few black screen resets mixed in, whenever I play the game on my Model 1 Genesis.