Gummy Bear
Posts: 109
Joined: 09 Feb 2019, 22:56

Feature request: Force specific console region

27 Sep 2019, 22:50

I just tried playing Ghostbusters (World) (v1.1) from the no intro set and the text was in Japanese.

That makes sense as I am using a Japanese MD, but it would be nice if I could have it in English.

Would it be possible to add an option to force the auto region fix to a specific region?

User avatar
neodev
Posts: 452
Joined: 09 Apr 2018, 14:47

Re: Feature request: Force specific console region

27 Sep 2019, 23:17

You can do it by creating a cfg file with the same name than the rom, and writting MEGAKEY=xx where xx is 80,81,82,83, but I can't remember the value for each region. I can check the proper values on monday.

Gummy Bear
Posts: 109
Joined: 09 Feb 2019, 22:56

Re: Feature request: Force specific console region

28 Sep 2019, 15:55

Thank you very much.

However it would be nice if you didn't have to fanny around with a computer.
How about this:

If you press and hold A on a ROM, the info stays on screen already.
Would it be possible to hit left and right to force a specific region and have the Mega SD create the file you spoke of?

That would enable users to force region on troublesome games without having a blanket option.

Just a thought.

flamepanther
Posts: 17
Joined: 16 Sep 2019, 17:58

Re: Feature request: Force specific console region

30 Sep 2019, 19:53

neodev wrote:
27 Sep 2019, 23:17
You can do it by creating a cfg file with the same name than the rom, and writting MEGAKEY=xx where xx is 80,81,82,83, but I can't remember the value for each region. I can check the proper values on monday.
While I agree with GB that being able to generate these configs from the Mega SD GUI would be ideal, it's very cool that this solution exists. Are there any other useful strings that can be added via CFG files?

Gummy Bear
Posts: 109
Joined: 09 Feb 2019, 22:56

Re: Feature request: Force specific console region

03 Oct 2019, 19:18

Bumpety bump.

Still waiting for those codes! :)

User avatar
neodev
Posts: 452
Joined: 09 Apr 2018, 14:47

Re: Feature request: Force specific console region

05 Oct 2019, 10:09

Sorry, I forgot and I'm away till next week, meantime you can just try 00 (no patch) or 80,81,82,83 to patch regions

Gummy Bear
Posts: 109
Joined: 09 Feb 2019, 22:56

Re: Feature request: Force specific console region

05 Oct 2019, 14:41

I just tried them all with duplicates of the Ghostbusters ROM and the results are as follows:

80 = JP
81 = ?? (The text was still Japanese)
82 = US
83 = EU

Gummy Bear
Posts: 109
Joined: 09 Feb 2019, 22:56

Re: Feature request: Force specific console region

05 Oct 2019, 14:58

I still think it would be nice not to have to involve a PC.

How about a preferred region setting in the main menu?
Any rom that you load that is NOT of the preferred region gets a cfg file made for it?

User avatar
neodev
Posts: 452
Joined: 09 Apr 2018, 14:47

Re: Feature request: Force specific console region

05 Oct 2019, 18:01

I'm thinking on adding a context menu when pressing Start on a game that lets you configure per game options.
The megakey value is 1 bit for region (japan/overseas) and another for pal/ntsc , so there is a value (pal, japan) that doesn't make sense (81)

Gummy Bear
Posts: 109
Joined: 09 Feb 2019, 22:56

Re: Feature request: Force specific console region

05 Oct 2019, 19:07

neodev wrote:
05 Oct 2019, 18:01
I'm thinking on adding a context menu when pressing Start on a game that lets you configure per game options.
The megakey value is 1 bit for region (japan/overseas) and another for pal/ntsc , so there is a value (pal, japan) that doesn't make sense (81)
Yeah that sounds good.

Return to “MegaSD Discussion”