Krycek7o2
Posts: 2
Joined: 25 Nov 2018, 17:06

Odd Issue with Controller

26 Nov 2018, 07:15

I recently bought the unit and I noticed after a few days that when I turn on the SSDS3 using a TurboGrafx-16, the menu does not respond. I either have to unplug the controller and plug it back or completely turn off the system. Has anyone experienced this? Or a possible solution? Thank you in advance for any help!

fenikso
Posts: 31
Joined: 13 Apr 2018, 17:47
Location: In Labyrinths of Coral Caves

Re: Odd Issue with Controller

26 Nov 2018, 21:04

Don't suppose you have any contact cleaner for your controller ports? Just in case it's dirty pins causing the issue.
It's high time cymbaline.

User avatar
Mobiusstriptech
Posts: 337
Joined: 13 Apr 2018, 15:41

Re: Odd Issue with Controller

27 Nov 2018, 00:21

The TG16 controller ports go bad from time to time. They are DIN8 ports and pretty easy to come by. I wouldn't be surprised if it is just loose pins. The Duo units have the same connector for their video out and it frequently becomes loose internally.

Krycek7o2
Posts: 2
Joined: 25 Nov 2018, 17:06

Re: Odd Issue with Controller

27 Nov 2018, 05:25

Yup. It’s the port. I cleaned it a bit and it’s no longer an issue but I’m sure I’m going to get it replaced. Thank you all for the answers!

fenikso
Posts: 31
Joined: 13 Apr 2018, 17:47
Location: In Labyrinths of Coral Caves

Re: Odd Issue with Controller

28 Nov 2018, 04:25

Mobiusstriptech wrote:
27 Nov 2018, 00:21
The TG16 controller ports go bad from time to time. They are DIN8 ports and pretty easy to come by. I wouldn't be surprised if it is just loose pins. The Duo units have the same connector for their video out and it frequently becomes loose internally.
Hey, you don't have an eBay, or other link, to an exact match, do you?
It's high time cymbaline.

User avatar
Mobiusstriptech
Posts: 337
Joined: 13 Apr 2018, 15:41

Re: Odd Issue with Controller

28 Nov 2018, 06:11

fenikso wrote:
28 Nov 2018, 04:25
Mobiusstriptech wrote:
27 Nov 2018, 00:21
The TG16 controller ports go bad from time to time. They are DIN8 ports and pretty easy to come by. I wouldn't be surprised if it is just loose pins. The Duo units have the same connector for their video out and it frequently becomes loose internally.
Hey, you don't have an eBay, or other link, to an exact match, do you?
It's nothing special and readily available. If you want a new shielded one here's your go-to.

https://console5.com/store/din-8-pin-so ... e-270.html

fenikso
Posts: 31
Joined: 13 Apr 2018, 17:47
Location: In Labyrinths of Coral Caves

Re: Odd Issue with Controller

28 Nov 2018, 16:17

Mobiusstriptech wrote:
28 Nov 2018, 06:11
fenikso wrote:
28 Nov 2018, 04:25
Mobiusstriptech wrote:
27 Nov 2018, 00:21
The TG16 controller ports go bad from time to time. They are DIN8 ports and pretty easy to come by. I wouldn't be surprised if it is just loose pins. The Duo units have the same connector for their video out and it frequently becomes loose internally.
Hey, you don't have an eBay, or other link, to an exact match, do you?
It's nothing special and readily available. If you want a new shielded one here's your go-to.

https://console5.com/store/din-8-pin-so ... e-270.html
Hey thanks, man. Should have thought to look at Console5, those guys are great.
It's high time cymbaline.

Return to “Super SD System 3 Discussion”